Jim Scott Calling It Quits After 47 Years On Air

B9316549490Z.1_20150310153221_000_GO5A6AC6V.1-0

Via- 700 WLW

Jim Scott announced that he will retire from his on-air duties after 30 years with the station. Scott’s last day on-air will be Friday, April 3, 2015 but he will continue working closely with the station. A Tri-State favorite, Mike McConnell will become 700 WLW’s new morning show host, beginning Monday, April 6, 2015 – the Cincinnati Reds Opening Day.

im Scott first came to Cincinnati in 1968 and after a brief stint at WNBC-AM in New York in 1972, he returned to the city and has been on the air since. Each weekday morning since 1984 he has been waking up 700 WLW listeners. Scott was the winner of the 2002 Marconi Award for Large Market Radio Personality of the Year and played a key part in 700 WLW receiving the 2014 Marconi Award for News/Talk Station of the Year.

“47 years of waking up the Tri-State has been such a privilege,” said Scott. “I’m looking forward to saying thank you on the air till my favorite day of the year Opening Day. See you in the Findlay Market Parade.”

Mike McConnell will move to mornings on 700 WLW, hosting weekdays from 5-9:00am. He joined the station in 1986 and hosted mid-days for 25 years. From 2010-2013 McConnell served as an on-air host for WGN in Chicago. He returned to WLW in 2014 as an on-air host.

 

 

I’ll be honest with you, I was never really a big Jim Scott fan. I know the guy was the picture of professionalism and was on the air for about twice as long as I’ve been alive, but for the life of me, I could never really get into the guy. Maybe it’s a generational thing. I can totally see why an older audience would be all about Jim Scott, but dude’s laid back drawl and constant on air fuck ups had me smashing the snooze buton even more than I normally would have. Nothing but respect for Jim though. I’ve been scrolling through the Twitter dot com all day and literally haven’t seen a single bad word uttered about the man. No doubt he’s probably the nicest guy in the world. The type of guy you’d love to have as a next door neighbor, just not the type of guy I’d dig on a morning show. Congrats to Jim Scott. Dude is a living legend in his own right and is probably gonna be kicked back poolside after smacking 18 everyday for the rest of his life. That’s a whole lot more than I can say slaving away in the cube right now.

Have a day, Jim. This one’s for you.

About Q-Ball

Owner, operator Queencitybeerleague.com. AKA The Commish. Q-Ball is that asshole at the office who refuses to brew a fresh pot of coffee. Not because he doesn't want to, he's just too embarrassed to admit that he doesn't know how.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment